Keesha-Ann Williams, PCT shares her story of becoming a US citizen

us citizen

My name is Keesha-Ann Williams and I work on Med Surg 5th floor at Emory Hillandale Hospital. I have a story to tell about my manager Robyn Richardson. I was hesitant about taking off work, but I had an appointment to become an American citizen. I am originally from Jamaica.

Not knowing what to do, I was honest with my manager Robyn about needing the day off and she was so supportive. She said, “I am so happy for you!”

I was very appreciative of her and told her that I wished my family was here to see me become a US citizen. She replied, “Don’t worry, I’ll be here for you!”

I was shocked and amazed and wanted to cry my eyes out.

She told me to text her the address so that she could be there to support me at the embassy. I arrived early and felt anxious about being there by myself. I didn’t see Robyn initially so I thought she was not going to be able to make it. Shortly after arriving, I got a text from her stating that she was actually right behind me. As I looked back to see her, I was so happy!

To my surprise, I received another text from Shunda Harper who is the Emergency Department Director at Emory Hillandale Hospital stating that she too was present alongside Ms. Robyn! I was moved to tears. I hugged both of them and we took pictures like we were one big family. I felt like they were so proud of me.