WinWin! With You Applauds Taneisha N. Benjamin, MD, DeKalb Medical at North Decatur, Hillandale Emergency Department, Michael A. Quinones, MD

winwin

Welcome to the WinWin! section. The employees listed below have been recognized by patients, peers and/or managers who want to showcase their wins. Please join us in applauding their great work. If you have a Win, we’d love to share and celebrate it. Send Wins to http://ow.ly/ZYwi307GSHY. 

Taneisha N. Benjamin, MD

Dr. Benjamin of DeKalb Medical Physicians Group Rockbridge Family Medicine of Stone Mountain is being recognized for really listening to her patient.

Patient comment: “Excellent physician!! Definitely the best doctor I’ve ever been to; she’s extremely knowledgeable, friendly, and most importantly — she takes the time to explain everything, and makes you feel like you’re the only patient she has (e.g. She doesn’t rush through the appointment or make you feel like “time is ticking” and she needs to get to the next room). I HIGHLY recommend Dr. B!!” 

DeKalb Medical at North Decatur

Staff at the Comprehensive Breast Center are being recognized for providing outstanding care in a professional manner.

Patient comment: “I visit this hospital once a year, for my annual mammogram. My experience has always been exceptional. The Saturday appointments are awesome. The staff is always professional. Thank you.”

Another patient comment: “I am pleased to say that I am somehow no longer terrified of hospitals. I went to the ER yesterday and I was there for a good long time. I was treated with utmost respect from start to finish. I felt valued and heard.”

Hillandale Emergency Department

Staff in the ER are being recognized by a patients wife for providing excellent care for her husband. 

Patient comment: “I went to this hospital with my husband and we didn’t wait very long for service. He checked in at the front desk and 10 minutes later he was in triage, then shortly after that, they called him to the back for a room. The nice young man came to draw blood from my husband. My husband and I were very impressed because the man was able to find his veins. Then Dr. Andrew Jones came in to the room and had everyone doing what they needed to do. After all test results came back, he told us exactly what the issue was and my husband’s pain was gone. My husband and I would like to thank the entire staff who handled his situation. Shout out to DeKalb Medical Hillandale.”

Michael A. Quinones, MD

Dr. Quinones of DeKalb Medical Physicians Group DeKalb General Surgery & Surgical Oncology received a five star rating from two patients for showing great care and compassion to his patients. 

Patient comment: “OMG, Dr. Q did my biopsy and he made me so comfortable and at ease. All my fear about the procedure was gone. Then when I went for my results, he was so kind and comforting. I’m seeing him again for my follow-up and I’m looking forward to seeing him again. Thank you very much Dr. Quinones for giving me my life and sanity back!!!!”

Patient comment: “The most comforting doctor EVER, very satisfied with his knowledge and diagnosis.”

Film Fridays – Watch Acute Care’s Video

People’s Choice Video Awards – Week 4

Clean hands video image collage

‘Like’ Acute Care Rehab’s video on our Facebook page.

‘Like’ Engagement and Experience video on our Facebook page.

Remember, on Friday’s, for six weeks, we’ll showcase our employee’s Clean Hands Prevent Infection videos on Facebook. This will be your chance to support, view and like your favorite videos. Be sure to share your favorite video on your Facebook page. We are asking the public to like their favorite video. The video with the most ‘Likes’ on our FB page will be crowned the People’s Choice Award Winner!

Stay tuned into DeKalb Medical’s Facebook page as we showcase one video a week.

Remember: Clean hands prevent infection.

DeKalb Medical is Recognized with National Award for Quality

Award Table 1 2017
Pictured l to r: Ellen Hargett, Bob Wilson, Sarah Kalaf, Paula Eissner, Catherine Bonk, MD,  Janet Duncan with Truven and Christina English.

DeKalb Medical received the 2017 Truven Health Advantage Award for Performance Improvement and Efficiency at the Truven Health Analytics Advantage Conference in May in Boca Raton, FL. This is DeKalb Medical’s second year in a row receiving this national award.

The Performance Improvement and Efficiency Award nationally recognizes DeKalb Medical, and particularly its Quality Institute, for creating processes and procedures that affect positive change and effectively report those changes.

Four staff members from the Quality Institute were invited to speak at this year’s conference: Paula Eissner, Christina English, Ellen Hargett and Sarah Kalaf.

 

Right Care. Right Place. Right Time.

Find a Primary Care Physician

DMPG PCP Map_June 2017

Here’s why everyone needs a primary care physician:

  • leads to much better health outcomes
  • lower healthcare costs
  • lower death rates
  • preventive care is a life saver

Take advantage of physicians providing excellent primary care, preventive and specialty medicine at DeKalb Medical Physicians Group (DMPG) practices. All practices are within the DeKalb Medical healthcare network. Here is a listing of practices:

  1. Beaver Ruin Primary Carehttp://www.dekalbmedical.org/dekalb-medical-physician-groups/beaver-ruin-primary-care
  2. Centerville Primary Carehttp://www.dekalbmedical.org/dekalb-medical-physician-groups/centerville-primary-care
  3. Downtown Decatur Family Medicinehttp://www.dekalbmedical.org/dekalb-medical-physician-groups/downtown-decatur-family-medicine
  4. Flat Shoals Internal Medicinehttp://www.dekalbmedical.org/dekalb-medical-physician-groups/flat-shoals-internal-medicine
  5. Killian Hill Primary Carehttp://www.dekalbmedical.org/dekalb-medical-physician-groups/killian-hill-primary-care
  6. Lenora Church Family Medicinehttp://www.dekalbmedical.org/dekalb-medical-physician-groups/lenora-church-family-medicine
  7. Lilburn Internal Medicinehttp://www.dekalbmedical.org/dekalb-medical-physician-groups/lilburn-internal-medicine
  8. Lithonia Primary Carehttp://www.dekalbmedical.org/dekalb-medical-physician-groups/lithonia-primary-care
  9. Miller Grove Primary Carehttp://www.dekalbmedical.org/dekalb-medical-physician-groups/miller-grove-primary-care
  10. Montreal Internal Medicinehttp://www.dekalbmedical.org/dekalb-medical-physician-groups/montreal-internal-medicine
  11. Mountain East Family Medicinehttp://www.dekalbmedical.org/dekalb-medical-physician-groups/mountain-east-family-medicine
  12. North Decatur Primary Carehttp://www.dekalbmedical.org/dekalb-medical-physician-groups/north-decatur-primary-care
  13. North Druid Hills Internal Medicinehttp://www.dekalbmedical.org/dekalb-medical-physician-groups/north-druid-hills-internal-medicine
  14. North Tucker Primary Carehttp://www.dekalbmedical.org/dekalb-medical-physician-groups/north-tucker-primary-care
  15. Oak Grove Family Medicinehttp://www.dekalbmedical.org/dekalb-medical-physician-groups/oak-grove-family-medicine
  16. Presidential Primary Carehttp://www.dekalbmedical.org/dekalb-medical-physician-groups/presidential-primary-care
  17. Rockbridge Family Medicine at Stone Mountainhttp://www.dekalbmedical.org/dekalb-medical-physician-groups/rockbridge-family-medicine
  18. Snellville Family Medicinehttp://www.dekalbmedical.org/dekalb-medical-physician-groups/snellville-family-medicine
  19. Stone Mountain Primary Carehttp://www.dekalbmedical.org/dekalb-medical-physician-groups/stone-mountain-primary-care
  20. Stonecrest Primary Carehttp://www.dekalbmedical.org/dekalb-medical-physician-groups/stonecrest-primary-care
  21. Toco Hills Primary Carehttp://www.dekalbmedical.org/dekalb-medical-physician-groups/toco-hills-primary-care
  22. Winn Way Internal Medicinehttp://www.dekalbmedical.org/dekalb-medical-physician-groups/winn-way-internal-medicine

Visit www.dmpg.org for a complete list of Specialists as well. Take advantage of our very own physician network! Make an appointment today.

TIP: Read the WinWin With You! section each week to get comments from actual patients who see DMPG physicians.

REMINDER: Please read Right Care. Right Place. Right Time. messages each week.  You could win gift bags with great prizes by answering six out of eight questions correctly from week fives quiz. The winner’s will be announced in September 7 eDigest.

 

Right Care. Right Place. Right Time.

Right care image

DeKalb Medical is launching an educational effort about when to go to the emergency department (ED) versus visiting an urgent care clinic or primary care physician (PCP). The purpose of this campaign is to guide patients on how to choose the best level of care when they or a loved one need medical attention. Knowing the right place to go saves everyone time and money.

We are starting the campaign, Right Care. Right Place. Right Time. with our own employees first. Beginning tomorrow, and continuing for four weeks, there will be a section in our staff electronic newsletter, e-digest, with information about how to choose the right level of care for your specific health care needs. This information will also be distributed in hard copy to areas that do not routinely have access to email.

Please encourage your staff to become familiar with the message in each e-digest as the fifth week will contain a quiz. E-digest will contain guidelines for the quiz and winners on all campuses will receive fantastic prizes.

You may also wish to share the Right Care. Right Place. Right Time. messages with your family and friends as everyone benefits from knowing where to go to receive the right level of medical attention.

WEEK 1 – Why should YOU have a Primary Care Physician (PCP)?Importance-of-PCP-Graphic

Please download and share this graphic with your colleagues.

The Rate of In-Hospital Falls Declines

 

The Falls Committee presented safety awards to units that decreased the number of patient falls in the hospital.

Certificates were given to the following areas for decreasing the number of falls from May to June:

Area May June
Unit 4200 5 1
Unit 3600/Inpatient Rehab at North Decatur 9 7
Unit 3400/Surgical 3 1
Breast Center, North Decatur 1 0
DeKalb Medical Physicians Group Killian Hill Primary Care 1 0
Specialty Care, North Decatur 1 0